About hero

About First Steps Kent

Our community vision is that every young child in Kent County will enter kindergarten healthy and ready to succeed in school and life. First Steps Kent is working with our community partners to make that vision a reality.

First Steps Kent is an independent nonprofit organization founded more than ten years ago.

Learn more about the history of First Steps Kent and the Early Childhood System in Kent County.

Our Team

The First Steps Kent team is committed to ensuring every young child in Kent County will enter kindergarten healthy and ready to succeed in school and life.

  • Jennifer Headley-Nordman

    President

    jheadley-nordman@firststepskent.org616.528.4619
  • Heather Boswell

    VP of Community Investments

    hboswell@firststepskent.org616.632.1016
  • Cati Cortes

    VP of Finance

    ccortes@firststepskent.org616.528.4547
  • Awilda Diaz

    Project Coordinator

    adiaz@firststepskent.org616.528.4559
  • Elyse Greene

    Funding Administrator

    egreene@firststepskent.org616.528.4658
  • Shelby Glover

    Office Operations Manager

    sglover@firststepskent.org616.378.6272
  • Kristen Sobolewski

    VP of Early Care and Education

    ksobolewski@firststepskent.org616.632.1011
  • Megan Streng

    Communications Director

    mstreng@firststepskent.org616.528.4552
  • Christine Timbol Larson

    VP of Impact

    ctlarson@firststepskent.org616.528.4548
  • Jasper Tinoco

    Data Specialist

    jtinoco@firststepskent.org616.528.4626
  • Daniel VanderMolen

    Director of Policy and Grants

    dvandermolen@firststepskent.org616.528.4560
  • Kiana Garcia Zaderej

    Funding Administrator

    kgarcia@firststepskent.org616.528.4616

First Steps Kent Commission

The First Steps Kent Commission is committed to making Kent County a community in which all young children and their families can thrive. The Commission serves as our Board of Directors.

  • Kate Pew Wolters
    Co-Chair, Kate and Richard Wolters Foundation
  • Lew Chamberlin
    Co-Chair, West Michigan Whitecaps
  • Josh Sayles
    Secretary-Treasurer, Ernst & Young
  • Leah Atkins
    Parent Leader
  • Amanda Barbour
    Children’s Healing Center
  • Guillermo Cisneros
    Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
  • Kevin Clay
    Pridgeon & Clay
  • Rev. Howard C. Earle, Jr.
    Beacon Hill
  • Claire Guisfredi
    North Kent Connect
  • Hanna C. Jaworski, MD
    Corewell Health
  • Melinda Johnson, MD
    Community Representative
  • Ron Koehler
    Kent ISD
  • Flora Ma
    Parent Leader
  • Krashawn Martin
    City of Wyoming
  • Kelsey Perdue
    Corewell Health & Grand Rapids City Commissioner
  • Anthony Queen
    Parent Leader
  • Milt Rohwer
    Community Representative
  • Randy Thelen
    The Right Place
  • Michelle Van Dyke
    Heart of West Michigan United Way
  • Sean Welsh
    PNC Bank
  • Doug DeVos, Emeritus
    Amway
Women smiling and hugging a childGirl eating

Funders

We want to thank our generous funders for their support of First Steps Kent and their commitment to young children in our community.

Financial Reports


Boy smiling
  • Meetings
  • Minutes